Sometimes when you’re following your dream, you find another.

Since I was ten years old, my first love has been photography. I dreamed of shooting sporting events and couture fashion. I played with different cameras and would have friends pose for me. Wherever I went, I had a camera with me. I shot for myself and no one else. I was an artist.

I studied art at uni and began freelancing as a portrait photographer. I eventually shot concerts and events, as well. My plan was to move to LA to extend my network to continue shooting glamour and band photography with the connections I had made.

But men plan; God laughs.

In 2006, I found myself in church on my birthday. I wasn’t there to worship; I was there for a business networking lunch. I took it as a sign and began attending regularly. I was surrounded by people excited to be worshiping God. However, although my body was there, my heart wasn’t fully committed. Later I would be invited to Evangel Temple, now my home church. It was there I found people who not only spoke of the gospel, but lived it. Along with worship, living for Christ was their passion. I became involved in the young adult program to worship during the week and meet other Christians. Through my new friends, I was able to involve myself in Christ-centered charities. I fell in love with Jesus, and found a calling in missions.

A year later, I continue to shoot, but with a different purpose. I work in missions but still bring my camera with me. I try to capture the heart of what we’re doing to spread Christ’s love and inspire others to seek Him.

We are all blessed with a talent. As Christians, it is up to each of us to use that gift to glorify God and seek the lost.

About bellamusephotography

Photographer for Bella Muse Photography
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

